You are here


  1. Luotasi
  2. Henki
  3. Lipite
  4. Narri
  5. Vantaa
  6. Lauma
  7. Levite

Vladislav Delay is one of the pseudonyms of Sasu Ripatti, a finnish electronic musician who has also published as Luomo, Sistol, Uusitalo or Conoco. It could be said that Delay is the suit he wears when writing experimental ambient music.

Within this style, the main characteristic of his works are the sophisticated textures that form his themes together with the featured role of electronic manipulation over conventional structures. In fact, there's a high level of aparent randomness in Vantaa. Also attracts the attention the minimal sound palette. Microscopic rythmic blocks mutate imperceptibly and are superimposed on layers and layers of icy organic sound. Vantaa is the machine's tribal music, an mechanic organism alive and dancing to the rythm of its own chaotic heart.

The themes flow from one into another smoothly, making the album an indissoluble whole: it is not necessary to start listening at the beginning but the Vantaa musical process is cyclic, without beginning nor end, swinging from a dense post-industrial sound to the wideness of a glacial Finnish landscape, in an endless going and back way.